Pet Blessing

I read an interesting article in local newspaper today. It’s blessing for pet.

Here is the article from Philippine Star :

Promises are made to be kept
MEANWHILE By Michelle Katigbak 
Saturday, October 25, 2008

 

 

Last October 4 and 5, The Philippine Animal Welfare Society (PAWS) and Alpo together with supporters and friends — Eastwood City, Frontline Plus, Krispy Kreme, and the STAR’s Pet Life section-put together the PAWS Animal Blessings at Bonifacio High Street and the Eastwood Central Plaza respectively, inviting owners and pet lovers to bring in their furry family members to be blessed.

PAWS held its first animal blessing in 1994. PAWS president Nita Hontiveros-Lichauco asked her parish priest at Our Lady of Mount Carmel in New Manila to hold the blessing in the courtyard. That year, the very first year of the blessing, only seven people attended with their pets, including Lichauco and a few devoted PAWS volunteers.

Now, blessings have grown in popularity and almost all churches have some ceremony for the special occasion. In the first weekend of October, PAWS had Mass celebrated in honor of St. Francis of Assisi and World Animal Day. The blessings were held at places frequented by pet owners including High Street in Fort Bonifacio and the Eastwood Central Plaza in Eastwood City.

The first of the two blessings took place at Bonifacio High Street officiated by Fr. Joey Paras, SBD with several animals participating in the service. The Mass was attended by 150 pets which consisted mostly of dogs but also included a 31-year-old turtle. The second blessing took place at the Eastwood Central Plaza and was celebrated by Fr. Rene Javellana, SJ and was attended by around 800 people and 300 pets.

Nino and I attended the Mass at Eastwood Central Plaza with our two dogs, Chihuahua London and Pug Sebastian, along with our family and their dog — a Chow and Husky mix named Cubbie — and our cousins Barni and Brian and their Beagle Sawyer. I was amazed by the number of people who came out to bring their pets to be blessed. There were animals as far as the eye could see!

Before the Mass both people and pets participated in a procession in honor of St. Francis and followed along behind a life-sized statue of him around Eastwood. Afterwards, the Mass began and pets participated in every aspect of the ceremony including PAWS’ Dr. Dogs and Professor Dogs as well as shelter dogs and beloved pets, who joined in the opening procession, the offertory, and even helping in the readings.

It was a very touching Mass and the priest reminded all pet owners that they have a big responsibility to take care of their pets, love them, and provide for them. After the blessing, we even reiterated our promise to our beloved furry friends that included this beginning of the special vow:

 
You are God’s gift to me and to my family.
I promise to cherish you and care for you
the way God intended for man
to care for all His Creation.
 

I promise that you will not feel hunger, fear, or pain;

That I will not give you up in times of sickness

the way that I know you will stand by me all the days of my life.

 

And as we all finished saying the rest of the promise, I admit I saw more than a few teary and misty eyes in the room. It was a great afternoon for pet owners, animals, friends and family to spend the day together in love and prayer and once again I was amazed at how PAWS is able to wonderfully put together another animal event that was such a resounding success.

It’s great that they are consistently organizing fun and educational events to help tell people about the plight of abused and abandoned animals in our country. There can never be too much help! If you’re interested in volunteering or donating, check out PAWS’ website at www.paws.org.ph for more information or to sign up for their Yahoo group. In the meantime, keep up-to-date about PAWS events. They are great and you should be sure that you and your pets don’t miss them!

++++

uuuuhh….i want to make a vow too for my Louie and Cino, and also for my future beagle doggie :D……

You are God’s gift to me and to my family.
I promise to cherish you and care for you
the way God intended for man
to care for all His Creation.
 

I promise that you will not feel hunger, fear, or pain;

That I will not give you up in times of sickness

the way that I know you will stand by me all the days of my life.

++++

Living in foreign country, actually is not a big problem for me, but live here without Louie and Cino, It’s a huge problem for me….hiks….I really miss them….

++++

ow ow….Tomorrow, 26th, October, 2008, in Eastwood, one of the mall in Manila, will be held a Scaredy Cats & Dog. A halloween party for pet and pet lover….:D 

Cant wait to be there….:)

Leave a Reply

